So Long Baby Shadow — Ben Partain

October 9th, 2020 we lost our precious Lab mix Shadow. She was 15 years old, she made it by 2 months, she had lost the ability to walk or do the simplest things to take care of herself. They say it’s the ultimate expression of love to have a sick animal euthanized but if that really is the case why is it such a difficult decision? My wife Rhonda and I knew it was her time but it was nearly impossible to tell her so long, she had been with us in some of the most trying times; deaths of family, personal sicknesses and times when I was literally dying until Rhonda gave me a kidney in May of 2009. Shadow was the mascot of dignity and strength in our house, she was a survivor from the start as a tiny 6-week old puppy, after all. We raised her from there and thus began a journey of love, laughter and sometimes tragedy when we lost loved ones, friends and other pets, she’s been a constant through some pretty turbulent times.

She was NOT an affectionate animal, she had a very stern demeanor but in her older years she became a companion to the other dogs we took in or accepted to our family. Caesar is a Golden Retriever guide dog who is Rhonda’s forever guide, she welcomed him openly in 2013 and then there was Bella, a Mini Pinscher who we rescued in October of 2014. Shadow treated Bella as her baby of sorts and never as much as even raised a gruff bark towards her, they played together, ate together and live harmoniously together until Shadow’s dying day. I write this because of course, I miss her but wanted to convey the message that in my case dogs really do rescue us, that they love us unconditionally and exercise their loyalty through their actions and vibrations they give off. Shadow went to our backyard the week before she had to go, taking one last trip around the land to say her final goodbyes to her final home. I cried because I knew her time was short and knew exactly what she was doing. I hope there really is a rainbow bridge, that she is with all the dogs we’ve had in our lives together and most of all that she awaits our reunion, I promised her as she lay dying it won’t be long and I literally can’t wait to hug her and feed her again.

Leave a comment